Home » Uncategorized » A New Song

A New Song

I collect songs.

Literally. I don’t know very many people who do it like I do. I hear something. I like it, and when I do, I make a mental note to memorize it. Being a band player, I also sing songs without lyrics on occasion, just cause I feel like it.

Here’s one of my recently memorized songs.

 

I Will Glory in my Redeemer

VERSE 1
I will glory in my Redeemer
Whose priceless blood has ransomed me
Mine was the sin that drove the bitter nails
And hung Him on that judgment tree
I will glory in my Redeemer
Who crushed the power of sin and death
My only Savior before the holy Judge
The Lamb who is my righteousness
The Lamb who is my righteousness

VERSE 2
I will glory in my Redeemer
My life He bought, my love He owns
I have no longings for another
I’m satisfied in Him alone
I will glory in my Redeemer
His faithfulness my standing place
Though foes are mighty and rush upon me
My feet are firm, held by His grace
My feet are firm, held by His grace

VERSE 3
I will glory in my Redeemer
Who carries me on eagles’ wings
He crowns my life with lovingkindness
His triumph song I’ll ever sing
I will glory in my Redeemer
Who waits for me at gates of gold
And when He calls me, it will be paradise
His face forever to behold
His face forever to behold

Credits:
Words and music by Steve & Vikki Cook
© 2000 Sovereign Grace Worship (ASCAP)



I sang this song on Sunday, but somehow, I think I didn’t realize exactly what it was trying to say.
To be honest, I’m painfully prideful in many ways. I feel God starting to teach me what it means to be humble, to give him the glory for the things I do. The very words “I will glory in my Redeemer” suddenly come to light when I realize all that he has done, and how much glory He truly deserves.
It is tempting to take to glory for our gifts and accomplishments. After all, weren’t we the ones who did all the work?
God made us. He made us to glorify Him. He gave us our gifts, and He granted us the accomplishments because, well, because He wanted to. His plans are perfect.
To glorify God is the reason we were given gifts and accomplishments in the first place.

Here’s another song I want to memorize, and maybe even add a tune of my own. (this one’s much, much older)

“I will sing to the LORD, for he has triumphed gloriously;
the horse and his rider he has thrown into the sea.
The LORD is my strength and my song,
And he has become my salvation.”

(emphasis added by me)

Wanna know what that song is?

Too bad. Go and look it up.

 

In Christ,
Melody

 

One thought on “A New Song

Leave a Reply

